We learn our most valuable lessons in life from struggling with our limitations rather than from enjoying our successes.

Success is a culmination of the journey of one’s struggles with his limitation in the face of adversities. The statement contends that one usually learns most valuable lessons in life from struggling with one’s limitations rather than from enjoying success. While enjoyment of success serves as a source of motivation and self-belief, it is indeed during one’s struggle to achieve success that the most important lessons of life are learnt.

Indisputably, it is one’s struggle with his limitations that teaches the lessons and skills needed to succeed in life. Foremost, grappling with one’s limitations reveals about one’s weaknesses that must be addressed to achieve the goals. Consider, for example, an Olympic athlete’s training program where he pushes him to his limits. It is during this period that both the trainer and the athlete learn about the latter’s shortcomings which can then be rectified. Further, it is during one’s struggle with the constraints that one learns about endurance and resilience. So was the case with Steve Jobs whose lifetime struggle made him enduring enough to lead Apple Inc to new heights despite suffering from a terminal cancer.

Moreover, it is through one’s struggle with the odds that one learns the skill of bouncing back from a fall. It was certainly through his earlier struggles that Brazilian footballer Ronaldo gained enough will power and strength to make a grand comeback to set new records after being traumatized with a career threatening knee injury. Then, the lessons about the importance of patience and perseverance for success can only be learnt by grappling with one’s limitations. Mahatma Gandhi’s 55 years of struggle for civil rights that ultimately paved way for India’s independence is a testament to this fact.

Apart from lessons for success, one’s struggle with his limitations also imparts many other important traits and skills. Firstly, the traits of valour and heroism are acquired while struggling with limitations in the face of challenges. For instance, it was the struggle of Martin Luther King for civil rights that inculcated in him the spirit of heroism and not his early career as a pastor. One also learns about the lessons of empathy while facing limitations as illustrated by the philanthropic work of many billionaires who rose from poverty. Finally, when confronting with one’s limitation of abilities and means, an individual learns how to use resources judiciously. For example, the Indian Space Research Organization, despite facing financial crunch, succeeded in launching the most frugal unmanned Mars mission ever.

One may argue that enjoying success is necessary to gain the required motivation and confidence to propel further. Without the glory of success, one may not only lose the drive to work hard but also the self-belief much needed to succeed. However, success itself cannot be achieved without struggling and learning the valuable lessons from that struggle. It is through the process of overcoming one’s limitations that one acquires self-belief and motivation to excel further. Even in case of failure, the struggle with one’s limitations gives lessons about the causes of failure as aptly explained in the words of Edison: I won’t say I failed 1500 times; rather I found 1500 ways leading to failure. Lastly, indulged in the glory of success, one may become complacent and lose the sense of purpose in life. Examples of many celebrities who surrendered their success before addictions and scandals duly corroborate this point.

In conclusion, the statement is fundamentally correct in asserting that the most valuable lessons are learnt while struggling with one’s limitations and not by enjoying success. Though success helps to motivate and inculcate self-belief, it is during one’s struggles with the odds that the lessons about one’s weaknesses, strength, resilience, empathy, perseverance, valour, etc. are learnt. On the contrary, immersion in the glory of success may result in complacency and loss of purpose in life.