Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the context mentioned, it is stated that the so called Palean woven baskets were not uniquely Palean since the archeologists also found in similar basket in Lithos which is an ancient village across the Brim river of Palea. The author came to conclusion based on the assertion that to reach Lithos the only means of transport to cross the river which is very deep and broad is by using boats, it seems to there are no boats found in that region. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated two questions must be answered.

Said, Brim river which is very deep and broad, is it the same situation across the full length of the river? It is possible that the river is deep and broad for some length along its distance. It is possible there might be shortening of the river in width and not much deep at certain points which could help the Paleans in reaching the other side of the river pretty easily without evening boats compared to a situation where it is very deep and broad. If the above is true the argument does not hold the water.

What really the boats are made up of? It is possible that the Palean might have boats which are constructed using the wood which decay over the time and appears to be there were no boats present. Perhaps the constructed boats were used as firewood especially in winter seasons. If either of these scenarios were true, then the conclusions drawn in the argument are significantly weakened.

In the conclusion, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on the several unwanted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the two questions and provide more evidence then it will be possible to evaluate the proposed recommendations.