Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean

The author of this passage had drawn conclusion from a number of assumptions which can be proven invalid. He has made the assumption that palean baskets were not uniquely palean as they were found in a neighbouring village. Although this argument may be plausible but on closer analysis appears untenable.

The author in the second line of the passage says that the baskets were “ believed to be made by palean people” there are no concrete evidences that these baskets were only made by palean people, it could be Lithos people who were making them and then transporting them to the palean’s. The passage also states that the “baskets were found in the immediate vicinity of Palea ” maybe these baskets were made in small scale factories in vicinity of Palea and transported to all nearby village.

Secondly a basket of palean origin was found in the Lithos village and the archaeologist believe that it was Palean may be this lone basket had reached there by a flood or any other natural calamity. As later on in the passage the author describes the Brim river which divides these two village. It could be this brim river which carried this basket from Palea to Lithos during a flood

Thirdly the author states that the ancient palean’s had crossed the river brim by a boat but there was no Palean boat found. This could be because the Palean’s may have had some alternative route to reach the village of Lithos. There is also a possibility that the Paleans used wood to make boat and it would have disintegrated with time and therefore no remains were found. Also the river is deep and broad in the present scenario may be in the archaic times it was shallow and not too deep thus easier to pass through by means other than the boat.

In summary the author fails to make a compelling argument of the Palean basket not being uniquely palean . To make this conclusion he needs more evidence and information which will help support his claim.