Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palean and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The woven basket was initially considered to be unique to the Paleans but due to a later archaeological siting of a similar basket in the nearby village of lithos which is separated by a deep and broad river, the writer concludes that the basket is not unique to the Paleans.

The basket was found around Palean and was assumed to be unique to them not considering the possibility that travelers might have journeyed from a distant land to Palean and brought the basket as gifts to show good will or might have settled in the land and taught the people of Palean the art of basket making. This will mean that the basket was wrongly considered to be unique to Palean.

The writer fails to consider that the Basket may be able to float floating and as such could have fell into the river and carried by water current to the other side of the river. This would mean that the Palean people made the basket and it accidentally fell into the river in the process of using it or in an attempt to dispose faulty baskets might have thrown it into the river and due to wind and water current the basket found its way to the Lithos village.

The writer stated that no Palean boat was found and therefore assumed that there was no means to cross from Palean to Lithos and therefore concluded that Palean basket could not cross over to Lithos. This assumption is wrong as the Lithos village could have been technologically more advanced than the lithos people. This could mean that the Lithos village had the knowledge of boat making and therefore had boats with which they crosed the river to Palean and returned back to Lithos with the Palean basket . this would mean that the basket could still be unique to the Palean as the siting of the basket in Lithos can now be explained. On the other hand, the possibility of the Lithos village having boats could also mean that the baskets were made by the Lithos village and carried across the river to the Palean village to be sold or gifted. This means that it cannot be said with aver that the basket which has been seen in both villages is unique to the Paleans.

In addition to the point made above, the writers assumption that not seeing a Palean boat means that they had no boat is wrong. The Paleans could have had boats at the time when the baskets were made. It is possible that such boats were taken as loot by an invading village, burnt down during war or even swept away by a natural disaster. This will mean that the Palean village had boats at the time when they produced the basket and used the boats to transport them across the river to sell to their neighbors in the Lithos village. It therefore means that the basket is unique to the Palean village and only got to the Lithos village for commercial reasons.

Finally, the writer assumes there are no other villages around. This assumption is wrong as a third party village could have acquired the basket from the Palean village and had a means to get it to the Lithos village therefore supporting the point that the basket is unique to the Palean. It could also be that the third party village could have acquired the basket from the Lithos village and had a means to get it to the Palean village therefore supporting the point that the basket is not unique to the Palean village.

In conclusion, the points above show that the argument is ridden with wrong assumptions which lead to a conclusion which could be very much false. Therefore the writer should go back and carry out a more thorough research so as to arrive at a more igneous conclusion which will withstand any critism.