Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of this prompt concluded that the palean basket are not uniquely made due to the evidence that recently archaeologists found out that the palean basket was found in another village called Lithos, which was far away from the endemic village of the basket in Palea, the originator of the palean basket. Before the conclusion of this argument could be properly reached, certain evidences are needed to be provided by the author.

Firstly, the author mentions that archaeologists found out recently about the new village having the same type of basket which the palean people had. The deduction for the Palean village was done years before the Litho village. Time changes and the time difference betwen which the two conclusions were derived at different intervals which was not provided by the author. People in Litho could have gone to palea to learn the process of making the basket from their specialist and would have learnt how to make it and go back to teach their people which might have led to the people of Litho learning how to make the basket whereby the distance of the two villages from each other would not have been an hindrance. The author needs to provide the time instances of the two periods and also the time cannot be compared due to changes. If the illustration above is proved valid, then the conclusion of the argument is flawed.

Secondly, the author did not provide information on checking the other villages when the basket was seen in Palea. Other villages around Palea (either close or far away) could have been into the production of the basket, the fact that the basket was made in just one city does not restrict other people from producing the same type of basket, the basket might not have originated from the Palea village, it might have been brought in by either someone who learnt it elsewhere or maybe even a stranger from another village might have been the originator of the basket in the village of palea. The author needs to provide evidence on the other villages that may be into the production of the basket rather than assuming that it was only produced in the village of palea. If the illustration above is proved valid, then the conclusion of the argument is weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is flawed due to reliance on unwarranted assumptions, the author needs to provide more evidence on the differences of the year each test of the villages were carried out, checking other villages for the production pf the basket.This evidences will test the viability of the argument that the basket was not only made in palea