Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above stated arguments is about the distinctive pattern which was found previously in the vicinity of the village of Palea and it was believed to have been made only by the palean people. But, recent archaeologist claims that such a basket was also found in the Lithos, an ancient village across the brim river from Palea. Furthermore, the brim river was so deep and broad that ancient Paleans couldn't have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found there so authors conclude that the Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. This argument is not complete. There are few misconception made by the authors before making conclusion.

Firstly, the authors has not mention the complete information about the other possibilities for crossing the river. Only considering the absent of boat is not sufficient to conclude that people cannot cross the river. Though the river may be deep and broad people can easily cross it by swimming or they can use rope from one side to another so that they can exchange the baskets easily. If author had mention about other possible ways for crossing the river then this argument will be more conclusive.

Secondly, the authors has not mention about when the archaeologists had done this research. If the research had done recently, then the authors has not mention whether the bridge is present there or not. Furthermore, we cannot find the information about the possibility that are currently being used by the people of Lithos to cross the Brim River. If there is bridge or boat then the basket may have been transfer from the Palea village to Lithos so that the baskets were uniquely made only in the Palean village.

Hence, there are few gaps between the argument and the conclusion. Without knowing about the fact information we cannot conclude whether the baskets were made in Palea or Lithos. Authors should mention more information about the research so that the argument will be more genuine.