Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted. In surveys, Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The statement certainly seems well thought and well stated at first. The Mason City residents, in surveys rank water sports activities among their favorite recreation activity but owing to the bad conditions of the river and the lack of budget a raise in the budget is being requested.

We are not sure which surveys are being mentioned. The questions that the Mason City residents were asked to answer in the survey are unclear. Also the statistics to back the ranking of water sports as the residents favorite recreational activity is not known. It statement states the "among" which can also be misguiding as the other choices are little known.

Although even if the surveys credibility is not doubted, the statement also says that the Mason River is rarely used for these pursuits so there is no certainty that on increasing the budget to riverside recreational facilities will raise the interests of the residents.

The complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell should be addressed with priority. Even with the little budget that is devoted by the city park departments, primarily plans to clean the river and its surrounding should be made. There can be several ways to tackle this issue without requiring a greater budget. The residents can too come together on weekends to help in whatever way possible. After the river has been cleaned another official survey can be done regarding this matter to come up an appropriate and efficient solution.

After this if the residents feel and support the devotion of more money to riverside recreational facilities then the same can be done.

Along with this regular maintenance and cleaning of the Mason River should be done to prevent the issue from resurfacing again.