The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The claim made by the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company to increase the budget for advertising as their movies are of good quality but are not reaching the public, seems coherent and sound at first. But there exist some flaws in the memo.

The reason stated for the "public's lack of awareness of the movies" produced by them is given to be lack of advertising. But is it so? The memo fails to describe the type of movies produced by the company. If the audience has reduced compared to the previous years than is there something that has changed like the kind of story telling or the originality? This has not been mentioned or looked into by the company. They just assume the content is of good quality. If the movie content is directed towards something that only a small amount of people can relate to then the viewers will also reduce even if the movie is actually good. In such a case the word of mouth publicity also remains restricted. The company should also analyze how novel their new movies are. It can be that the viewers liked a kind of genre but because it is so ubiquitous it no longer excites them even if it may be good. And thus would be fallacious to simply assume that the movie contents are not reaching enough of their prospective viewers.

Also the memo doesn't mention where the movies are displayed and if there has been any change in the amount of theaters their movies are shown compared to the previous years. It will be natural for the viewers to be limited if the movie is screening only in smaller area. In this case increasing the number of theaters where the movie is being screened will be beneficial to multiply the viewers.

The memo says that the percentage of positive reviews has increased but to just assume that it is because of the quality of the movie may not be correct. The more a movie does well the more critics it gets. Getting critics is also comparable to the success of a film. In such a case increase in the percentage of good reviews is not an evidence of any thing. More attention and analysis of the movie production need to be made.

In conclusion, a lot of factors have not been considered or analyzed, including the analysis of the consumers and their critics. So allocating a greater share of the budget to advertising at this stage with lack of evidence to prove that this will help reach out to a broader audience does not seem justifiable.