"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.l differences in Man and Woman tasks are not equally suited for both

The editor of the aeronautics magazine states that manned spaced flight is costlier and more dangerous and thus we should invest more in unmanned space satellites and probes to gather information. This claim seems coherent and well intended in first glance.

The difference that can be noted are "manned flights" and "unmaned probes and satellites". Space flights and space probes and satellites are two different terms and have their own advantages and disadvantages which have not been eloborated or explained in the statement. The difference also lies in the terms of their sizes and as mentioned the cost and danger associated with them. The lack of exact details of how or in what terms exactly the cost differs for both makes it look skeptical.

There is always going to be a difference in the success rate and the type of information gather by each of the space exploration machine. The success rate has not been give to prove the reliablity of the space probes and satellites comapred to a human driven space flight. While the satellite can provide us with pictures or the temperture variation data, there is much more information that is required for a space research. There may be certain aspects of it which can only be understood by actually experiencing them.

It also mention the risks associated with sending human into the space, which are undeniable but since space research and launching satellites itself is quite a risking task, I dont think researchers or astrounauts are afraid of these challenges. The possiblities of miscalculations for each should also be noted. Since a manned satellite has a human life which is at stake requires to be more cautious and careful as the there are no major repurcursions to an unmanned satellite.

Thus a detailed report of the astounaunts who have previously ventured into the space should be taken and their opinions should be taken before coming to a conclusion. Also a comaprison consisting of the resources required, cost, development time, the type of information collected by such satellites previuosly and the risks associated should be all considered as a factor before taking a judgement.