Advancement in a field of study and outside experts.

At present, a particular topic or an area of study is taught in more detail than ever and various domains of knowledge are inextricably linked with each other. The prompt says that experts from another field are needed for advancement in a particular field of study. I strongly agree with the view as the nature of studying a particular area is no longer simple, rather extremely intertwined.

Consider how a cultural anthropologist’s knowledge of an ancient civilization is enhanced not only by the expertise of an archaeologist- who unearths the evidence- but also by geologists, biochemists, linguists and even astronomers. By analyzing the evidence found, a geologist can help identify the material used for making tools, weapons etc. Similarly, biochemists and foreign experts can explore the cause of death, eating habits, general well-being and preservation process of dead bodies etc. by analyzing the hair, nail, teeth, and skin of a mummified body. This information in turn enables an anthropologist to extrapolate the overall lifestyle, trade, economy, work habit, technology, the extent of travel and so forth of the ancient civilization. Linguists are needed to decipher the writings or any documents of the ancient era, which in turn help to predict the cultural traits, literature, religion etc. of that era. And even astronomers could be of help as they are the experts who can find out the positioning of tombs, temples, and monuments since the ancient people used to fix places for such establishments with the help of stars.

An even more fascinating example of how the expertise of discrete fields is needed to advance a particular field is Astronomy. To carry out research and exploration in this area very delicate equipment and instruments are necessary. For instance, the telescope is a very keen tool for an astronomer and it is the engineers who should be lauded for the invention of the telescope. By using a telescope an astronomer explores and measures celestial distances, masses, volumes etc. which are actually the domain of astrophysicists. Similarly, many manned and unmanned probes are sent to space for astronomic exploration. However, the probes and the required software and technology come from different fields like computer, mechanical and aeronautical engineering. Again, to initiate any space project there is a need for acumen and savvy of business, political and economic leaders. It is their efforts that help to associate budget and necessary preconditions for making space projects successful. Even diplomats play a crucial role in this area as many giant space projects are the result of collaborative action by various nations.

Overall, the area of a particular subject or topic is so vast and interlinked with other domains that it is a precondition to utilize the interplay among different fields to advance in a particular field. Without the synchronization of discrete fields, progress may hinder.