Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Educational institutions like schools or colleges can direct, shape or show the way how to learn but it is the sole responsibility of the students to grasp the teaching. Hence, I strongly agree with the prompt that educational institutions cannot alone motivate the students to learn.

Certainly, the institutions have some responsibility to encourage the students to acquire knowledge along with teaching, but it is not their primary duty to motivate the students. The main duty of an educational institution is to provide the students with the necessary equipment and proper teaching, and it is a matter of the personal discipline of a student to acquire the given ways and methods.

Even though a student is equipped with proper instruments to learn such as books, expert teachers, and innovative and persuasive teaching methods, it may be that the student is not likely to adhere to what his teachers’ are saying or he may find reading books boring thereby bring him in a position far from learning. For example, one might find that a number of students drop out from very highly prestigious schools or colleges. What it actually means is that these students, who dropped out, were not self-disciplined, they did not take what their institutions presented them. Therefore, the institutions could do little to motivate students for learning.

An even more dramatic example could be the earliest phase of humankind and how they learned by themselves. At that time, although, there were no such institutions which could provide structural education, people learned many essential things for survival and to shape their culture and economy. For example, the way how to grow food was not derived from any institutions rather it was individuals' own endeavour to learn them. Similarly, trade, finance, engineering every other thing was learned by humans without any institutions at the very beginning. Then, how did they learn those things? The answer is, through their own interest in learning. This explanation emphasizes the primacy of personal discipline regarding learning.

To conclude, it can be stated that students who lack personal discipline to learn cannot be motivated by the school or colleges.