In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In today's society where social media is pervasive and there is no lack of new content, it is easy to find it difficult to keep up with the latest trends and news as events unfold by the second around the world. With widespread and instant access to news events and stories, the common person is inundated with information from countless sources. What is currently labelled as viral news appears for a transient period before being replaced by the next big story. it would only be logical to think that any newsworthy heroic event is captured for a mere moment in time but is unable to leave a legacy.

widespread media coverage ensures that we receive news from many sources. considering our local population, where heroic deeds were once few and far between, we now receive disproportionately more news of everyday heroes delivered straight to our smart devices from around the world that it trivialises the significance of each heroic event. The firefighter saving lives that may only happen once or twice a year now becomes a daily event and in essence, consumers become desensitised to such heroic events - painting it was just another story. media outlets also have no incentive to further report on events that are no longer newsworthy. this coupled with the incessant updates of events only catalyses the speed at which society forgets its own heroes.

media outlets are also usually more interested in reporting events that can be sensationalised, these tend to have a negative spin on it. The amount of news that can be considered negative far outweigh heroic deeds. For example, news of a fatal car crash would more likely be reported compared to news of doctors saving lives on a mission. society today is not hungry for heroic deeds, but on the contrary, events and news that tend to take on a negative slant.

However, the increase in media coverage may very well be the tool that ensures that heroes continue to live in our memory instead of fading away. The recent covid-19 pandemic illustrates an example of an infectious disease expert from China who was coincidentally the same expert that identified patient zero during the SARS pandemic in 2003. it was due to the widespread coverage by the media that ensured he was recognized and given due credit for his work and sacrifice in returning to the frontline to help combat the new virus. Intensive media coverage ensures that heroic deeds are given even more recognition and this is fed to the consumers, even if only for a fleeting moment. unfortunately, such events instead of being commonplace reporting, have become a rarity. media outlets since then have followed up with significantly more news on how the pandemic is affecting the world but not how infectious disease experts are fighting to find a cure.

Hence, with media coverage growing more widespread, more accessible on a daily basis, and society's shift in demand for news on a more negative slant, it is only a matter of time for any hero to be lost in the vestiges of time.