It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Heroes are men and women us but have some extraordinary sill or stature that make them different from ordinary people, in fact, there is a very limited number of people who can be that extraordinary to become a hero. In the prompt, the author asserts that nowadays it is quite impossible for a society to regard someone, man or woman, as a hero. However, I strongly disagree with the author.

Historically, we are introduced to some great people who are our heroes after their death meaning that the recognition of hero is actually given when they are no longer among us. For example, it is very unlikely that one may find a living legend in a history book. Therefore, there is a stereotype that heroes are dead. Moreover, some people think that the world is now in a position where we do not need a hero to uphold our society because we are developed enough and there is no war in the world. However, both of the aforementioned assumptions are not entirely true.

First of all, we usually ignore some heroic attempts by men or women since they are very common or ordinary to our eyes. For example, in the job of a firefighter, we hardly feel the risk and danger the job is accompanied. Hence, the particular men or women who choose this type of job are not someone very ordinary, rather they are the most unique people among us who take the extreme responsibility of saving humans from dangers. Furthermore, these peoples never deny doing their work, even when it is vulnerable to their life. Therefore, these people are no less than heroes, though their job is very familiar to us, the job is not something that can be done by any of us. This instance proves that it is very plausible for a society to regard a man or woman as a hero.

Secondly, as the world had gone through two drastic and devastating wars, and now the overall situation is calm, everything is running harmoniously, therefore, one might express that there is no need for heroes. However, the recent Covid pandemic tells us a different story. The lethal covid-19 showed us that doctors, nurses, scientists, police or even ordinary person can be a hero. During the epidemic, we saw doctors treating people while risking their own life, scientists were doing intensive research on the virus knowing that it may affect them and eventually fall them to death. Furthermore, the police together with general people were on the field to help other people and maintain a quarantine zone to contain the virus. All these things are no less than heroism, thereby meaning that heroes are living with us and they appear when they are needed most.

In sum, ostensibly, we may maintain that heroes are gone because of our narrow focus on the activities of ‘heroism’. However, they are always within and among us, and society can always regard someone as a hero.