In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A hero is someone whom the entire society admires, respects and looks up to. He is someone from whom we draw inspiration, someone who's doctrines are followed by children all over the globe. At least, that was the case up and until the age of media and especially social media. Here the prompt, claims that "In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero" and I moderately agree to this as it is true the minimum requirements for someone to be considered as a hero has regressed but there are some acts of bravery that would go unnoticed without the extensive coverage of media. I will be discussing the arguments for and against the prompt in the coming sections.

First all, as mentioned above, the minimum requirements for someone to be considered a hero has dropped significantly, as a result the quality of a modern day hero has gone down. Small acts of kindness which should be considered normal but due to the extensive social media coverage are getting canonized. For example: all the major surveys about mental health show how much our eyes are glued to social media, and how much of an influence they have in our daily lives. Consequently, the small acts of kindness which should be a normal virtue for a human being are given a platform to be lauded. Thus, our addiction for social media is degrading the standards of what we should consider before claiming someone to be a hero.

Second off all, due to the pervasive nature of social media content and media content in general, it has become very difficult to trust the validity of any content that comes to our screens. Spurious content is everywhere and due to our minds getting numbed from the overexposure to social media we as a race are beginning to loose our sense of judging what is true and what is fake. Anyone can make a content that makes him out to be an outstanding human being with even more outstanding morals. For example: Instagram celebrities are notorious for posting pretentious content for some extra views and followers and boosting their image with forged content that make them out to be a superhuman. This is such a common sight in the social media world, that is becoming very difficult to judge who is a true hero and who is a fake one. Such dishonesty makes the ordinary citizen loose their interest to consider someone a hero.

On the contrary, there are some events that take place in a society which would not be brought to our attention without the wide coverage of media and social media. There are kind people peppered throughout a society who does good for the sake of good and not for attention. They are among us and we would never know about them if their acts were not made accessible to us through social media. This is the only positive effect that social media has had regarding this issue. For example: if someone did not use the "go live" option of Facebook when a local man was saving a helpless girl from getting mugged we would have never known about it. So we have only social media and it extensive coverage to thank for this accessibility.

To conclude it is very difficult to take sides while arguing both sides of the coin presented in the prompt but it can be said that we should always take our contents with a grain of salt and whenever it is feasible we should always verify how genuine the content is. If we can filter out the bad and keep the good the standards required to be a hero will never go down.