In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

It seems to be a consensus that the extension and coverage of media in every field is constantly developing in width and depth. There is no doubt that such situation offer us so many benefits. However, when we consider the unprecedented phenomena that this recent circumstance is causing, it would not be difficult for us to find that excessive information exposure is deeply affecting our personal thinking and judgement. In other word, we have become more skeptic and critical since there is so much information in media, making it hard for us to distinguish between true and false, especially when the information is about a specific alive person which might be defined as a hero. Therefore, it is not uncommon for some of us to assert that in this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regarding any living person as a hero.

The word “hero” itself is rich in its meaning, making it hard to defined absolutely. Generally speaking, a hero is a individual who has good qualities and is willing to fight bravely for the majority. However, as I said before, the concept of hero so very complicated that everyone's definition of hero may be slightly different, no matter how famous the hero is, it can only be recognized by maybe numerous people or even most people, but not all. Hero is always a relative concept, both in history and in the present. For example, one of the greatest presidents in the history of the United States, President Lincoln, who won the American Civil War, freed the slaves, it is fair and just for him to be evaluated as fighting for the liberation of human beings, and consideration does meet one of the definitions of heroes. In the eyes of most Americans even people around the world, President Lincoln was indeed an undisputed hero. However, both in his time and in ours, there were still radical nationalists and white supremacists, for whom President Lincoln was not a hero because he did not fit their criteria. They went out of their way to attack President Lincoln's image with his flaws. Nevertheless, do the words of the Ku Klux Klan these people are capable of denying that President Lincoln was a hero?

In this case, I think if a person is recognized by the majority for his or her dedication, he or she has a chance to be considered a hero and I believe most people with any sense left would agree with me. Indeed, the extension and coverage of the media in every field gives us the opportunity to acquire a great deal of information about a person, both positive and negative, true and false. Just when we may be on the verge of defining a person as a hero, some negative information about him is exposed on social media. However, just relying on these cannot even be identified as truly negative information, it is obviously irrational to completely ignore whether he is a hero for the sake of the majority of people's unrequited efforts. First of all, there is an old Chinese saying that a person's good virtue will not be covered up because of his small mistakes. We can't go after a hero based on a little negative information. Secondly, in the complex media environment, fact checking is very important, a lot of negative information is malicious concoction by people with ulterior motives, we have noticed this and learned to carefully screen out credulity. Therefore, in the current media environment, it is still possible for living people to become heroes.For example, for those Doctors Without Borders who have been providing medical assistance to local people in poor and backward areas, their image has been widely publicized on social media, of course, there will be some people in the media to try to publicize their shortcomings, but as Lu Xun said: heroes with shortcomings are still heroes, and even perfect flies are only flies in the end. Such criticism and denigration do not prevent most people from thinking that they are real heroes.

We need to accept the fact that because of real human nature and the current media environment, heroes may be flawed and controversial, but that does not prevent them from being considered heroes. More and more people are acknowledging this view.