In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society toregard any living man or woman as a hero.

In the contemporary society, some may believe that it is impossible for modern people find any living ones as heroes because of the serious media coverage. However, from my perspective, it is the fast-spreading media that ensures any kind of people and relevant events can be shown on the Internet. In this way, people are more likely to find someone who meets their own definition of heroes.

To begin with, Internet creates a magnificent stage for the ordinary people, whose glory and great experience is always neglected. A firefighter who gets injury because of saving people, a doctor who has no rest in a whole month in order to do more operation and save more people, or a teacher who do his duty for thirty years, can be regarded as a hero according to someone’s opinion. Thanks to the intensive media, their stories are more likely to be depicted to us since such experience really attract people and people may have more interest to get familiar with them. By contrast, in the past when the spreading of information was not so quick, these ordinary people might be overlooked, even though they had done something excellent.

Furthermore, everyone has their own definition of hero. Some may believe that the real great man who promotes the development of human beings can be regarded as a hero, others value those who sacrifice their own interest in order to help others; some may think that a hero is perfect and cannot make any mistakes, others regard that it is some errors that shape a hero instead of a god. On the Internet, you can always find someone fit your criteria since its intensive coverage.

Certainly, some may argue that these so called “heroes” are fake and unreal, whose experience may be exaggerated and beautified. However, the significance of a hero is not the hero himself but his spirit behind him. Even though the story that someone sacrifices himself to save others is exaggerated, it does not matter those who regard him as a hero learn from his spirit and try to help others in their daily life. In this way, the meaning of heroes is valuable.

To sum up, the intensive media coverage increases the exposure of ordinary people and the diversity on Internet allows all kinds of people to be observed, both of which contribute the possibility that fits the standard of heroes. Certainly, the problem of exaggeration cannot be neglected but if people can learn from the exaggerated story, it is still positive in general.