“Government funding should never be used to support art that the majority of the population finds

distasteful or objectionable”

Art covers a wide range of human activities which includes areas like creating visual, auditory, performing arts expressing imaginative or conceptual ideas that is meant to be appreciated for their beauty or emotional power. So should government use taxpayer’s money to fund art even when majority of population hate the it? The answer is a big resounding No. If art is supposed to be appreciated and majority of the population does not appreciate this art in whatever form, then there is little justification for the government to fund such a project such a project. The little justification for government to fund art that is hated by majority of the people is when the ultimate purpose of that art is for the greater good of the population.

In a society that is rife with want. Where there is lack of basic social amenities like water, light, good roads, infrastructural development, insecurity, lack of basic health care etc. art funds should be the least of worries by the government. Just imagine a community that has lack of water and light and instead of the government addressing these issues it goes ahead to commission a beautiful artwork in that area, that piece of art will definitely by hated by the people whether it is aesthetically pleasing or not because it is not a necessity to them.

An art work may be seen as offensive by the people and against their religious and cultural beliefs a government has not business using taxpayer’s money to fund such projects. Imagine a government erecting a statue of Buddha in a predominantly Islam community or erecting the statue of Jesus in a predominantly Hindi Society. In this case it doesn’t make sense to spend government funds on art.

But in some cases the piece of art may be hated by the people but may be of benefit to them in the long run. The government may commission a piece of art that reminds the people of a history that they will rather forget like the era of slave trade or unfortunate period of maybe war or disaster or erecting and architecturally artistic building in a place with a rustic feel to it. In both these examples the people may not love the art but it may become a source of tourist attraction to the area in the future.

In conclusion, there is a little justification for a government to fund an art work that is hated by majority of the people in the sense that the art may have long term benefits to the people that they may not foresee immediately, but ultimately government should not fund art that is detested by majority of the people because these are the taxpayers and the government is supposed to be concerned about the people. Taxpayers money shouldn’t be spent on art when it is not a necessity as there are other more important pressing needs neither should their money be spent on art projects that will cause religious rancour within their community.