All results of publicly funded scientific studies should be made available to the general public free of charge. Scientific journals that charge a subscription or newsstand price are profiting unfairly.

Publicly funded scientific studies should indeed be made available to the general public free of charge. Following are three points in favor of the same.

Price on publicly funded research can motivate disregard for elimination of bias, if not bias itself. Let us consider the two extremes where studies are made public free of charge and another where they are available at a very high price. Providing such research at free of cost essentially implies that a more diverse readership has access to the studies. This would mean that the studies will go a very strict check once they are published, thereby there would be little scope of bias in the study. Empirical results are much permeable to biased conclusions, thus considering the vast readership the studies will get, the researchers will be compelled to bring bias to a minimum. Now consider the case when the journals are sold at a very high price, this by itself would mean that readership would narrow down to the people who already are in that field and might agree to some biases which are generally accepted in that field, irrespective of the basis of such assumption.

Transparency would be impeded, if prices are imposed. Publicly funded research which can affect public should be made public to the general mass free of charge. it is the right of every citizen to have information which affects her/him. Putting a price on studies will imply discrimination on the basis of economic standing.

To promote and inculcate scientific temperament the journals should be made free of charge. It will also lead to increased inter disciplinary collaborations and understanding. Thus, the price on the journals will reduce the number of cross disciplinary readership.

Thereby, considering the above points, publicly funded scientific studies should be made available to public free of charge.