It is more important to understand concepts and ideas than to learn facts.

In our day to day life we are constantly bombarded with facts; sports scores, weather report, stock market movement or just plain old gossip. However men today no longer process everyday information with as much depth as our older generations did. Thereby, it is indeed more important to understand concepts and ideas than to just learn facts for three primary reasons.

Real-life problems require understanding and thinking on feet, be it in academia or industry profession or everyday life. Thus, students need to inculcate skills which provide adaptability in life rather than focus on simply learning facts. I implore the reader to think of an instance where facts solely where responsible for solving a real-life problem. As is evident real life problems are rarely solved through only facts. In many situations a degree from a reputable institute is usually of less importance than the presence of mind, thereby focusing only on learning facts might prove to be counterproductive for students and thus they should focus on understanding.

Globalization and internet have deemed the requirement of remembering facts to be non existant. Today every bit of information is on the fingertips of almost everyone with a smartphone. Thereby it becomes redundant if students focus on learning facts when they are capable of adding value to society on a much higher degree than a smartphone.

Focusing on understanding concepts and ideas has another motivating aspect, it results in development of higher cognitive skills than simple memorisation. Akin to how the body develops through physical excercise, the mind to grows agile through a consistent application of abstract thought process. Thereby students develop stronger neuron connectivity and rapid firing between them. This imporves association and recall increasing the overall performance of the student.

In today's high speed and easily accessable world, it is imperative that students focus on understanding rather than focusing on learning facts.