All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Assume a company would like to operate more efficiently. Should they hire an outside consultant to suggest how they can do this or should they simply listen to the employees that already work for the company? On one hand, consultants may be unbiased and employees could be concerned about voicing their opinion, but on the other hand, employees may know the company better and simply listening to them would not require further resources. Taking all sides into consideration, it becomes clear that if companies listened to their employees that would indeed negate the need to hire an outside consultant, as employees know the company best, so not require outside resources, and asking their advice would not disturb normal operations of the company.

One may argue that hiring a consultant is the best way to go as they would be disinterested and therefore not afraid to voice an honest opinion. While it's true that employees may be hesitant to voice their opinion if it is not anonymous, the company can very easily negate this potential problem by giving employees a private and anonymous way to give their suggestions. Something as simple as having a suggestion box somewhere in the office would be an easy way to ensure employees do not have to be concerned voicing there opinions and suggesting ways to improve efficiency.

One main benefit to simply asking employees how to improve efficiency instead of hiring a consultant is that the employees, especially those who have worked at the companies for an extended period of time, will have the most extensive knowledge about the inter workings of the company. Additionally, getting the opinion of those in multiple positions at the company could engender a more comprehensive and effective approach to improving efficiency. In contrast, hiring a consultant, who would have no previous knowledge of the company, may not be able to obtain all of the knowledge needed to create an appropriate and effective solution in the limited amount of time that they have.

Furthermore, hiring an outside consultant in and of itself may create inefficiencies for at least a transitory period of time. If the consultant has to talk to many people or the company at a whole through meetings or one on one talks, this would hinder the employees from doing there work. Additionally, in order for the consultant to truly obtain an in-depth understanding of the company and where they can improve, they would have to work over an extended period of time and may have to disrupt normal operations a myriad of times. This is therefore an intrinsically ineffective approach to the problem of inefficiency. Additionally, the company should consider the extra cost of hiring a consultant. Asking employees on the other hand provides a free and efficient way of gathering in depth information and thereby engendering an appropriate solution.

In conclusion, hiring an outsider is an intrinsically inefficient approach to ameliorating a companies efficiency due to the costs associated and time of employees wasted through the consultants investigations. Meanwhile employees, as long as they can voice their opinions anonymously, can contribute in-depth knowledge of the company which would greatly benefit the creation of any solution. Therefore, before a consultant is hired, companies should first attempt to improve efficiency through those that know the company the best, the employees themselves.