All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Consultants are the professionals who are trained to guide or provide advice to the companies. Many companies do hire consultants to strategize their market plans and estimate the feasibility and profitability of the plan. However, it is not always necessary to hire consultants. Employees of the companies who diligently work for the company can hold good suggestions too.

Humans are social beings who refrain from taking risk. So to ascertain How good or bad the company's plan are they hire professionals to do so. Thinking that these are the more erudite people who can help them in providing better judgement. However these professionals often provide most banal strategies. These consultants work for multiple companies. They fail to provide any personalized plan which will profit one's company.

There is a possibility that these strategies are already used by your competitors in the market and thus does not ensure the success of your strategy.

The employees on the other hand ,who is aware of each and every detail of the strategy and has worked diligently from the start of the project can prove worthy to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. For example the legendary Elon Musk who started paypal, SpaceX, introduced us to Tesla Cars uses an open door policy. wherein any of his employees could just walk his and suggest his/her concerns for the betterment of the company. A successful leader is the one who listens to his team , considers their suggestion and then take a perspective decision.

All employees are good at some particular field. Some is good with technology ,some other is good with accounts. Most employees do not hold consummate knowledge of all fields. Suppose one wants to establish new start up which is a online retail store for selling clothes. Now this startup has knowledge which is restricted to the quality and buying and selling of clothes. But they don't know how to survive in this market for long. In such cases consultant comes into picture, Who can help to guide you through the success of your startup

In conclusion, many people have opinions and suggestions. At the end it is us who decide who we listen to. There are certain set of people who influences us ,whose advise have proven worth in the past. So if your employees are one of them and you appreciate their advice then one can listen to the suggestion of their employees otherwise consultancy is the second best option.