All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Consultancy is a desiderata for the company as most of the functioning of the company solely depends on the expert opinion of the consultants. Most of the multinational companies hire outside consultants for providing methods for efficient operation of their company. They spend huge amount of money on these consultants just for their opinions and consultancy. There are many employees present within the company itself who have tantamount cognitive abilities to provide suggestions for their company.

Firstly, the employees of a company itself know better about their company's requirements rather than the outside consultants. They know the issues they are facing in their assignments and have the acumen to resolve these issues at their disposal. It would be beneficial to listen to them as they have a better understanding of the situation.

Secondly, the employees of a company are more trustworthy than the consultants provided by the other company. What if the consultancy company is our rival in market and it is misusing our resources. It is difficult to build trust on an outside company. On the other hand, the employee is already liable to company's litigation and cannot indulge in fraudulent ways to delude the company. An employee will provide diaphanous opinions without any malicious intentions.

Thirdly, a company has to spend millions of money on these consultants to receive their expertise for their efficient functioning which is an unnecessary waste of money and time, if, the same thing can be procured from their available resources. Spending more on their own resources who have the apt intellectual for consultancy and taking their advice could prove bang for the buck.

Fourthly, the security of information of their data is enhanced if the company's own employees are working on it. If this data is accessed by an outsider, there are the risks of plagiarism and malfeasance which is a huge threat to the company. So, security is an important aspect of keeping the data confidential and not letting it fall in other's hands.

Even though, a company should use it's own employees for consultancy, in some cases, it is better to hire outside consultants. Like, for instance, if the company doesn't have the skills of it's employees suitable for consultancy work or if it has to create a whole new department for it which needs lot of efforts. But a better perspective is always to listen your own employees rather than trusting an outsider.