All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

There is an implicit assumption wraped up in the statement under consideration. The assumption is that 'employees speak up.' Given that this assumption this true, then I may be of greater support of this statement, but it all too often the case that few employees speak up. Employees may mumour among each other but if it is the case that they rarely speak up, then there is nothing to even listen to in the first place.

Yes, the statement might be true suppose employees speak up, first, because they are directly at the intersection of the work and tend to understand the nitty gritty of the work more than an outsider can. Because of this, listening to them might actually be the best thing companies might do for themselves. Secondly, because they understand the nitty gritty and pain points of the companies, they are good a audience of focus on when trying to discover the issues that needs urgent attention.

However, while they may be good at pointing all out pain points, it cannot be said conclusively that the companies have internal capabilities to fix frictions that might have been pointed out. For instance, the case of technology breakdown, expperts are often needed to fix this, or the developer of the technology itself may be required for a fix.

In light of this, the statement I am of the opnion that the place consultant cannot be ruled out even if companies listen to their employees. At best listening to employees will help to know where exactly friction lies and help direct the focus of companies while engaging consultants.