All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In archaic times, there were processes and procedures that would hire required individuals to accomplish a work in the company.In today's ever changing corporate world, companies would want the work done in brisk of a momemt. As a result to increase the efficiency and reduce the time taken for delivery of a task, companies have started delegating some work to set of consultants, commonly a group of external firm that hold specialized expertise in a field.

Although there is an ongoing discussion in the corporate industry over hiring consultants to do the job of an onshore employee , it can be agreed than recruiting consultant increase the pace of delivery in a company. This is because of the fact that most of the consultant firms are full of individuals that have an expertise doing the type of work for which a consultant firm is created. This reduces the burden from the shoulders of recruiting company to search expertise in the market. Moreover, most of the tasks for which a consultant is brought into company are short term and so it is not advisable to go through the pain of finding right expertise for a transient work. For example, if a company wants to complete their tax records once a year, it is rather easy to hire an experienced consultant firm to do the same rather than looking for an accountant every year.

Another important point to consider here is there can be certain jobs in a company that do not flow in the bucket of a single user group. For example, reconciliation of financial statements to present to an investor of a private equity fund is a task that should be touches both operations and accounting teams, whoich might function independendly. At such senarios, bringing in a consultant that can bridge gap between the two teams and can give inputs from both the ends, thereby increasing the efficiency of reconciliation.

While employers continue to hire consultants for specialized jobs as mentioned above, it cannot be implied that companies have stopped listening to their own employees. A recent study showed that most companies hire consultants for expert advice but end decision is taken after discussion with current employees of the company. To conclude, even if companies spend more time with theie employees, consultants would still be necessary to bring in additional views in the discussion