All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary. Employees of an organization are well informed by the issue as they have faced it closely as compared to the outside consultant.

By spending more time with the employees of their own rather than hiring outside consultants, the companies can actually save a lot of money which can be then further invested into different numerous projects for future profits. Recently, I was interning with an oil and gas sector company in India i.e Indian Oil Corporation Limited, Refineries headquarters and I saw the similar approach being taken as the company instead of hiring outside consultants, spent more time discussing the issues amongst themselves. As a result, the company is one of the highest profit making companies in this sector in India.

Sometimes, the companies should rely on their employees rather than taking the issues to outside consultants as the employees at our organization are well known with the working norms of the company and this not only instills an ample amount of confidence in the employees but also enhances the overall productivity of the employees, therefore invigorating the overall environment of the company. It's pretty obvious if we suppose an employee of a company is seeing his ideas are well listened by his boss in the organization will make him work more passionately for his company.

But we can't completely rely on the employees solely for the efficient working of the companies and have to hire outside consultants for the same. Each and everyone in this world has a unique style of working and approaching towards the solution of the issues faced. The consultants at the same time are particularly trained for these purposes to find solutions to the problems whose solution is unthinkable. Rather experience also matters in this profession as the problem faced by one company can be new for it but it might be true that the consultant company would have already found out the solution to the same problem for a different company.

Some of the well known research companies have faced an issue with their information being leaked by some or the other manner. Therefore the outside consultants can't be completely trusted as another rival company can bribe the consultant company to leak one's information, therefore wasting all the money and time invested on the same. Therefore companies should spend more time with the employees of it's own organization rather than hiring the outside consultants.