All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Consulting exists and continues to exist as an industry for a reason. Although a company could save money by directing it's questions regarding effeciency towards its employees, it is sometimes necessary to have an outsiders opinion to bring a fresh new perspective to the workplace. That being said, I believe it is necessary for consultants and employees to work collaboratively. Such a collaborative effort would ideally produce a plan that is innovative yet practical, supported and beneficial to the people who work there, as well as cost-effective in the long term.

As a consultant, this person has professionalized in a career that is focused on ways to improve companies' effeciencies. In other words, consultants have experience, whereas a companies' employees may not. By having consulted for various types of companies, a consultant knows what measures can be practically and realistically implemented within a company and to what degree of success such measures have. This type of experience and knowledge is invaluable. By investing in someone who has first-hand experience and success with improving a company's effeciency, this could potentially end up saving the company. Listening to and investing in programs and measures proposed by employees who may have little to no experience with company operations, although may save money on the front end, these untested measures may end up costing the company more money in the long term. Therefore, by investing the money on the front end in a consultant, who has the experience and knowledge base of how to improve company operations, you are provided much more of a guarantee that these measures will be successful.

Furthermore, consultants bring a fresh perspective as an outsider to companies. It is well known that it can be difficult to see things that you are so familiar with in a different light. Consultants can come into a company unbiased and see areas of improvement that may be overlooked by the very people working at that company.

For these reasons, consultants are arguably a worthwhile investment; however, they are only worthwhile insorfar as they collaborate with the employees working at the company for which they are hired. This is absolutely necessary to understand what frustrates and slows employees down on a day to day basis. Without this grassroots approach, consults run the risk of completely missing the mark in terms of creating more effective company operations.

I do not believe that were companies to spend more time listening to their own employees, outside consultants would suddenly become unneccesary. Consultants offer a higher level of experience and knowledge in terms of company operations. Additionally, they offer a new set of eyes with which to analyze and view a company. These attributes, I argue, make such consultants worthy of investment. However, whereas the company may be required to spend more time listening to its employees, it is necessary for the outside consultants to spend time listening to their clients employees. Without an understanding of the day to day operations, the grievences of the employees as well as what they enjoy from the company, the consultant runs the risk of implementing strategies that may not affect or may adversely affect the people who actually work there.