The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The world today is inundated heavily with advertising from all types of businesses. While data must prove that advertising is worthy of the investment, the argument presented by the advertising director for Super Screen Movie Production Company is flawed. It relies heavily on correlation implying causation and uses a sample size to support the argument that may not be statistically significant.

The first error this argument makes is by using small sample size to make a larger point. The director states that fewer people are attending Super Screen movies, yet the percent of positive reviews has increased. Naturally, when the sample size of a group decreases, the amount by which there is percent increase and decrease is much greater. For example, say 100 people went to a Super Screen movie, the percentage point by which a single person causes an increase or decrease in positive reviews is merely one. Whereas if only 10 people went to the Super Screen movie, the percentage point by which a single person causes an increase or decrease is ten. This causes a massive difference when interpreting the data. Therefore, in order to use this as supporting evidence for increasing Super Screen's advertising budget, the sample size of this data needs to be statistically significant.

The second error this argument makes is that correlation implies causation. The director argues that it is the lack of advertising that is causing the decrease in number of viewers, without providing any further evidence that this is indeed the cause. There could in fact be a myriad of reasons why people are not viewing Super Screen-produced movies. The director would be wise to back this claim up with supporting evidence. This evidence could perhaps come in the form of a poll. The director could poll a sampling of people whether or not they had seen any Super Screen advertising in the past day, week, month, etc. If the majority of people replied that they had not seen any recent advertising, this could support the director's argument. Further supporting evidence could then stem from a follow-up survey asking the same sample, to list their priorities when it comes to choosing a movie to view. If the majority replied that the movies they see are based on the advertisements, this would be additional evidence for the director's argument. In conclusion, the director provides no evidence to back up his claim that the reason for decreased viewership is due to lack of advertising. The potential strageties provided above could bolster and provide the necessary support.

The advertising director's argument for increased spending in the advertising budget is based on several fallacies. The director does not account for changes in percentages due to sample size and relies heavily on correlation impling causation.