All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Effiecient work requires efficient workers. This goes to show that irrespective of the status of the worker, either as an external consultant or as a company's employee, an effective worker will always carry out duties efficiently.

Some might argue that outside consultants might work better because of several years of experience on the work as well as relevant training. Some might even consider that the employee's could be trained, but that the cost of training employees would be more than that required to involve outside consultants. They fail to recognise that the cost of training their workers, however large, would offset the cost of paying outside employees, and overtime, this would significantly cut the cost of performing certain projects within the company. Also, affording employees with the opportunity to recieve on the job experience as well as conduct jobs independetly, will increase their efficiency. This will in turn save cost incurred in hiring outside consultants, and ultimately increase profits for the companies.

Let's take Nigeria, my home country for example. There is a high level of unemployment in the country and this is not news on a global scale. Several unemployed citizens of the country are skilled labourers who immediately find jobs as they leave the shores of the nation. Yet, you would hardly find a foreign international in Nigeria that is without job. The services of the citizens of a country would provide cheaper labour, and if they are lsitened to, trained, exposed, the services of externals wouldnt be tagged necessary, and more money will be saved.

The above point is the reason why multinational companies in my home country such as Total, Slumberger, Shell Petroleum Development Company (SPDC), etc, proritise sending their workers abroad for adequate training and exposure to reduce the dependence on outside consultants. In these companies, there is a personnel for almost every task, and this increases productivity and reduces costs significantly.

In conclusion,the availability of trained and experienced full time employees would render the services of outside consultants unnecessary and reduce the company's running cost. Therefore, companies should spend more time listening to thier employees and brainstorm ways by which they would recieve pertinent skills and traning enough to handle the affairs the company without the help of external consultants.