Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguement that many lives might be saved if inoculations were routinely administered to people in areas where the disease is detected is a causal form of argument. However, this author is more concerned with the smaller chance of people dying of innoculation than the greater number of people likely to die if they don't get innoculated against the cow flu. This is flawed in a number of ways.

Firstly, the arguement fails to tell us if cow meat is the only source of food in areas where cowflu is detected. As is common knowledge, the cowflu can only affect humans if an infected meat is ingested. Therefore, if there are other sources of meat, or food at large, there will not be need for any form of innoculation at all.

Secondly, let us assume that cow meat is the only source of food in areas that cowflu is detected, which is highly unlikely. If the author believes that MANY lives will be saved if innoculations against the cow flu were routinely administered to all people, but that there is a SMALL possibility that a person might die as a result of the innoculation, he should prioritise permiting the innoculations if saving MORE lives is the goal. Would he prefer that many people die of the disease without any attemt to save their lives or that a few die in attempt to save their lives?

Thirdly, if innoculation will not be permitted for fear of human mortality due to the innoculation excercise, and many people will die if nothing is done, what then is the alternative solution? The author fails to point this out.

Fourthly, the author sounded like he was certain that the people will readily accept the innoculation even if he decides to administer it. He however, didnt provide any prrof of this. If they don't accept the innoculation, how exactly will lives be saved?

Without explicitly stating an alternative solution, or even providing proof that the people will accept the innoculation, the author's arguement is weak. This arguement would hold more water if the author specifically stated that cow meat is the only source of food in areas where Cow flu is detected, the people will readily accept any form of intervention to solve the problem, and lastly that there is an alternative solution to the problem of human mortality due to the presence of cowflu in affected areas.