Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The aims and aspirations of any young person or their "dreams" must be healthily encouraged by their parents, mentors and caretakers. The assumption that these high and lofty ideas they have for themselves are selfish should be thoroughly disregared. The dreams of a young boy who seeks to be a doctor does not stop him from achieveing other altruistic goals in his life and future. I strongly disagree with the prompt and will elaborate below.

When famed neurosurgeon Ben Carson sought to become a pediatric doctor, he of course could not have imagined the fame and recognition that would come with something like that. He simply wanted to help sick and dying children. That was his dream, his motivator through the intense and grueling process of becoming a doctor. Neurosurgoens have to be the most skilled at their job, due to the nature of their subjects. One wrong move and a life is chnged forever. The goals that can be accomplished in the achievment of a dream can change lives and the world at large. That is as selfless as it gets.

Dreams can be a strong motivator to co-operation amongst a seemingly unrelated group of people. Renowned civil right activist and preacher Martin Luther King Jr. shocked the world in the 1960s as he spearheaded the call to civil reform in the United States. Marginalized people from across the country listened to his speeches and rose up in peaceful protests and walks which forced the hand of the government into succumbing to the will of the people. His most famous speech "I have a dream" resonated with the most downtrodden of the time. His dream of civil freedom had become a shared goal for millions of people. The recognition and attention that comes from a dream fulfilled is a by-product of hardwork and determination.

That is not to say that selfish dreams do not exist, they most certainly do. Generals who take to war with dreams of glorious honor and recognition from battle have dreams. It is the lowly foot soldier who will end up paying the ultimate price for these delusions of grandeur. The goal of war serves no one but the loss of human life. These examples of backwards and selfish dreams are sparsely accomplished because the goal of a person is a reflection of who they are. The emphasis of a career should be actualized with what the indiviual is most suited to do.

As a society, we must not condition the younger generation to only take on jobs that are economically or financially viable as a means of keeping poverty away. Instead we must garner an appreciation for the jobs, works, art that might not seem profitable but bring a smile to peoples faces. Without such we would lose the arts, music and a whole plethora of unknown and untapped skills and talents.