All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Companies often hire outside consultants for varied number of reasons such as improving operations of the company, getting ahead of competitors through marketing moves, for legal matters as well as for financial mergers and acquisitions. So when the statement says that instead of hiring consultants just listen more to employees, I don't agree with it at all. Such diverse tasks and operations need people who are experts in their respective fields rather than just regular employees.

Let us break down why are consultants needed and what do they bring to the table. Consultants are more often than not business graduates who have spent 2 years in rigorous MBA programs and are well versed with the business world nuances. They are basically polymaths and that all-round knowledge helps them see a problem with different perspectives. They work for different companies to improve their businesses and hence when a company hires them, it is implicit that the consultant brings with him the past experiences of plethora of companies. With a novel issue to solve in each company, consultants rely highly on data rather than subjective knowledge of the company and take their decisions accordingly. A person who is from outside the company will be disinterested and will be unbiased with information available.

So, if a consultant is replaced by a regular employee of the same company, the company loses the expertise that the consultant brings with her which comes after working for ample of different companies. Listening to employees would only show the problems they are facing in the company. To make the process solution oriented, we need consultants or someone who would have larger overview of things. Employees can be helpful in the zone of their work, but not beyond that.

Hence, it is imperative that consultants have a separate use-case and it should not be mixed with employees' one. However, it is important to note that, employees' point of view is as much important. The higher management should make sure that the problems in the company are brought forward by the employees only then the consultants can work to bring solution. So the employees and consultants are more complementary than competitive for the company.

In conclusion, I would say that consultants solve a very unique purpose by being outside the company yet giving advice on how the company should operate. Their role must not be confused with regular employees of the company.