People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Humans by nature are emotional creatures. We love to bring feelings in each and every aspect of our life. When a comparison is made between a person who makes decision based on emotion rather than reason, we often notice that reason wins the game. I strongly agree to the prompt that people who make decisions based on emotion and justify it later with superficial logic are poor decision makers for two reasons.

First and foremost, when a person makes decision based on emotion he lets his feelings collude with the sound judgement that the mind is capable of. Personal feelings are nothing more than subjective opinions which, being highly biased, can lead to egregious blunders on the part of decision maker. For instance, in 1980 the Indian national cricket team was finalized for the world cup tournament. There was an experienced player in the team (not to take his name) who was not in good form but as he had experience, the selection committee was biased towards him and selected him inspite of his subpar performance. The result was, as expected, he performed poorly in every match played. Fortunately the captain of the team was able to handle the situation with tact, which culminated in India winning the world cup. This shows that the selection committee failed as a decision maker by getting wafted with emotion(bias) and was still trying to argue logically that the player's experience was the sole reason they selected him.

Consequently it becomes clear that the logic must be a precursor of decision rather than its reverse. Often it is seen that when faced with any situation, a person is likely to react with emotion in the first place. But it becomes imperative that she should cast aside the emotion for a while and think logical approaches to the problem. With intellectual prowess is used instead of emotions, it will result in much better outcomes and less blunders. Mr. Ratan Tata is a great industrialist who believes that an argument is sound only which is suggested with reason. He gave his office not to someone who follows from his lineage but to someone who is capable enough to handle a vast empire as his. If he had let emotions take the better of him, he might have miserably failed as a founder of organization. Hence, it is quite clear that logic is the foremost parameter while taking a decision.

However, people might argue that without emotions humans will become robots and will disregard feelings in face of predilection. Here the most important thing to note is that person must adhere to his feelings while make personal choices in his life but doing the same while making other decisions will prove detrimental at best. He is the sole judge for his actions and must not mix his feelings with what is logically right.