All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

In the advent of the twenty-first century, many consultant companies have surfaced providing solutions to a wide range of companies for their efficient operation. There can be mixed opinions on whether the suggestions provided by the consultants would be more fruitful than the suggestions of the employees of the company.

After years of experience in the company, employees might be myopic towards the way in which the company operates, turning a blind eye towards new arenas of expanding the company's growth. Except a few, most of the employees would complete whatever is assigned to them instead of taking the extra pains to suggest about new methodologies to improve the company's stature. When consultants come into the picture, they give a third view of the existing state of operation in the company and suggest possible places of improvement which can pave way towards its efficient working.

Further, the consultants would have analyzed the state of operation of existing companies over several years and would have interpreted the factors that led to the success of a few companies and downfall of the others. They would have given their expertise and would have worked for multiple companies in different domains and thereby would be able to give beneficial suggestions to curb the current issues in the company. They can easily assess the feasibility of the suggestions given by employees at different levels in the company.

On the contrary, outsourcing and bringing consultants into the picture may also exacerbate the existing operations in the company. A particular methodology that may have worked in company A may not bear fruits to a different company B. They may give superficial advice for the company's growth without exploring the company's workflow in detail. In addition, by bringing a consultant into the workflow, the company might expose the secrets of its work structure to a third-person putting the company's data and resources in danger. The consultants might illegitimately sell the company's internal resources to third-parties to earn profits.

Also, the employees of the company working in the root-level are the ones who know the actual state-of-affairs and the prevailing methodology than any third-party consultant. Consequently, the employees would be in a better position to pitch effective ideas to increase the profit and brand of the company.The employees who toil day and night in the company will know the intricacies of the companies operation and might innovate new ideas to increase its efficiency. Further, if the administration of the company listens to its own employees rather than pay lump sum money to consultants, it can both save the time and expenses incurred.

Thus, the advantages of listening to the company's employees outweigh hiring of consultants to give a opinion on the company's operation. Instead of bringing third-party consultants, the company can form a separate team of their own employees that actively appreciates and criticizes the existing operations and suggest new avenues of improvement. Contrarily, consultants can come in the last step of the ladder to just evaluate the feasibility and lay a plan of action for the suggestions recommended by this team of employees.