Although innovations such as computers, videos, and internet seems to offer schools improved methods for instructing students. These technologies all too often distract from real learning

Teaching is the process of imparting the knowledge, a teacher have, to the students in an effective and easy way as much possible. Innovations such as computers, videos and internets always provide schools an excellent method of instructing students with detail audio-visual mechanisms of the processes. I therefore strongly disagree with the claim that these technologies often distract from real learning for the following reasons.

Learning is effective only when the whole process of any phenomenon under study is observed properly with complete oral explanation. A marker, a white and a book is not sufficient to provide detail knowledge of any complex phenomenon. For this, the audio-visual means of learning is imperative which is easily done with the help of videos (at least animated) and computer. For instance, it is difficult for a teacher to make the student understand completely about the reproduction process merely with the help of books and some oral explanations. But, if the students are instructed with the videos, providing detail visual processes involved in reproduction from the fertilization of eggs, its development due to cell division, zygote formation, developmental process of different body parts at different prenatal stages, its movement and other biological processes that takes place till the birth of a baby, then it is no doubt that students will have any doubt regarding this process. Similarly, the advent of computer learning is also essential in the detail study of life cycle of insects and the metamorphosis process. The students will have the vivid images of the changes taking place at any stage in the life of insects and the changes taking place during metamorphosis. This results in a clear understanding about the subject matter under study and is long lasting. Thus, the advent of technology always promotes real learning.

Similarly, audio-visual learning is also effective in imparting real knowledge because the students will be able to see the things exactly what it is. Students will learn easily if they understand the shape, size, color, location, and function of different body parts under study. For instance, different facial bones and cranial bones (which are difficult to show in book) can be easily shown individually with the help of video animation. Their shapes, sizes, locations, and the functions can be easily shown with detailed video explanations due to which students are highly likely to understand about the detail of these bones. Further, video animation is always effective in instructing students about the biological mechanisms taking place in living body such as working of heart, lungs, and etc. Learning simply through the books with rote understanding is not a real learning. A real learning is achieved only when the students are taught with audio-visual explanation of the detail phenomenon.

Further, audio-visual instruction about the past events, places and geographical distribution is equally important for the clear understanding of the students. One cannot understand about these things merely by hearing and reading the books. For instance, the students are likely to forget if they are taught orally about the cause and consequences of the world war. But, if they are taught about this event with the detail audio visual explanations (like a short documentary), I assure you that the student would certainly remember all these events throughout their entire life. Similarly, instructing about the geographical distribution, climatic conditions, and biodiversity of a particular country or continent would also be equally effective if they are instructed with the help video explanations as they will have the images of these things embedded in their mind. Thus, instructing the students with the help of computer, videos and internet always assists in real learning.

In conclusion, I completely disagree with the statement that technology often distracts one from real learning. I believe that technology is always imperative in instructing the students for their real learning as audio-visual instruction not only helps to make them understand about any subject matter but also leaves the vivid image of the whole mechanisms of the subject matter and is often long lasting.