Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With the onset of technology, tools such as computers, projectors and tablets have taken the place of the humble blackboards and books. Though video, computers, and the Internet have revolutionized educational practices, their impact on students' attention spans and focus necessitates a careful balance between incorporating technology and preserving traditional teaching methods. As these technologies have become a part of my own curriculum, I do find them to be a distraction for me personally. To support my stance, I would like to elaborate with a couple of examples.

Due to the advancement of numerous internet applications and specifically Youtube, there are many videos on the internet that provide you with courses or lectures on each and every topic in any curriculum or field of study. This is such an advantage for so many people, especially the less fortunate who cannot afford education. But of course, with its advantages comes its disadvantages. Youtube recommendations are one of the primary source of distractions for many individuals using the application. It suggests multiple videos, with attractive thumbnails that quickly make an individual click on it, and when you realise it, you have already gone down the rabbit hole of watching videos not related to the lecture or topic you were learning.

The mobile phone is another device which is very useful for learning topics on the go. But with the increase of social media and entertainment services apps, it is extremely difficult to stay concentrated for more than 10 minutes at a time. While reading a books, article or watching a recorded lecture, any notification that pops up, the human mind has a tendency to open it. For students in university, which mostly allows students to carry their phones to college, students tend to not pay attention to the lecturer and would rather spend their time scrolling through social media.

There could also be many long-term effects of using technology as tools for learning in addition to being distractions. These may include a shortened attention span, loss of critical reasoning skills and increased social anxiety. Technology confines ones’ education to oneself, instead of widening it, or opening up the individual to newer experiences, social interactions and opportunities to communicate with their classmates. These are equally important aspects as learning the theory taught in the subject.

Technology, nonetheless, is a very important part of education. All the information that one could need is at their fingertips. It makes a teachers job easier, by making the class more interactive by adding audio and visual content to their teaching material. It engages the students even more and piques their interest in learning the subject. Computers, videos and the internet causes more of a distraction than it can be helpful.