Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning. - GRE Issue 119

Over the past decade, many new learning techniques have been developed as a result of advancements in technology. Although these techniques may cause distraction in some cases, their advantages outnumber their disadvantages.

The most important advantage comes from studying with the help of the Internet. Many years ago, whenever a student had to do an assignment, the ideal approach was to visit the school library, go through a number of books on that particular question or topic and then write answers. But, with the help of the internet and highly advanced search-engine websites like Google and Bing, all the relevant information related to any topic can be found within seconds. Moreover, as electronic versions of many books known is e-books are readily available, it is very easy to search as well as carry and go through multiple books at a time. This saves a lot time which can be invested by students in learning more advanced concepts.

Use of technology such as smart projectors, presentations and so on is also very helpful for teachers. Many schools now teach with the help of presentations, rather than using the traditional chalk and blackboard. Furthermore, the teachers can also show videos of many concepts to students on various topics from the internet which makes visualization easier and speeds up the learning process. The lectures given by teachers can also be recorded, so if any student absent, he can still go through what was taught in the class. New technologies which involve natural language processing can also help teachers in correcting and monitoring a student's progress.

Despite of the advantages of using the new technologies in schools, there are always a few students who may get distracted. For instance, although there is a plethora of useful information on the internet, it may happen that many students waste their time on social networking websites and other distractions like computer games. However, with efficient control and monitoring of a student's access to the internet, these problems can be efficiently tackled by the school authorities and parents.

All in all, with the help of technological innovations, schools can improve the learning process of students and the teaching methodologies of the teachers.