In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution
without first being strongly influenced by past achievements in that field.
The premise that significant contributions in any field can only be made
through the influence from past achievements in that field holds true in the
modern world. Modern appliances, advanced medicine, and improved fuel
efficiency are founded on earlier models. The next big thing is simply a
version of the last big thing. It may be thinner, smaller, faster, or more
intuitive, but, fundamentally, it is the same thing. The ubiquitous television
sets in people’s homes today are probably hanging on the wall and have
plasma or LCD screens. These bigger, brighter versions essentially perform
the same function as the older, bulkier vacuum tube models; they bring
moving pictures into our homes. The Band-Aids found in every medicine
chest come in a variety of sizes, colors, with or without an antibacterial
cream embedded, and even in liquid form. These superior bandages also
perform the same function as their predecessors; they cover cuts and
scrapes. In actuality, everything new is not very original. They are
adaptations.
One must turn to the ancient world to recognize that the greatest
contributions in any field of endeavor have come through discovery rather
than invention or advancement. Early man discovered fire and realized he
could use it to cook his food, warm his cave, and keep predators at bay.
Eventually, he learned how to create it, preserve it, and carry it with him as
he migrated to better hunting grounds or more temperate climates. Modern
man has witnessed the harnessing of fire to create steam that powered ships
and locomotives. It still heats our homes and cooks our food, but it also
takes us into outer space.
At some point ancient man realized that round objects move more
effectively over the ground than do square or rectangular objects, that the
power of water could help man to accomplish tasks more easily, and that
the leaves, roots, and bark of plants and trees provided relief from pain and
other maladies. Thus, we have the wheel, grist mills on local streams, and
aspirin in tablet form. Were it not for Franklin’s flying a kite during a
thunder storm or Fleming’s discovery of penicillin, we would live in the
dark and die from bacterial infections. When bold seafarers from
Scandinavia and Western Europe sailed east and failed to fall off the edge of
the earth, they discovered the fishing banks off the coast of Newfoundland
and treasures in Mexico and opened the doors to modern-day travel.
In the final analysis, it is appropriate to assert that no one can contribute
significantly in any field of endeavor without first being influenced by past
achievements in that field. While those contributions generally improve the
quality of our lives, it is likely that the next important discovery will have a
profound effect.