In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

When thinking about the statement above a hackneyed adage comes to mind: “ Practice makes Perfect”. This trite quote can be applied to this context in that practice is analogous to the influence by past achievements while perfect is comparable to significant contributions. Personally, I agree with this statement due to several examples that are portrayed in history, literature, and science. In this essay I will provide two examples from sports and physics that buttress my position on this topic.

In the current world of sports, Cristiano Ronaldo is the world’s seconds highest paid athlete according to Forbes 2019. Ronaldo is a professional soccer player for Juventus FC with a very emotional childhood story. Having been raised in a poor family, Ronaldo rarely had the equipment or resources needed to develop himself properly in the world of soccer. Ronaldo had to learn from watching other players moves and skills. In addition, He watched and learned how to master dribbling, shooting, and even mental strength from the experience of other players. Therefore, before being able to create his own skill move “the Ronaldo chop” he had to master and learn the basic dribbling techniques of many of his predecessors such as Ronaldinoh and Beckham.

Another similar example can be seen in the field of theoretical physics. Steven Hawking probably has one of the most brilliant minds in that field. However, when studying at Cambridge university in his undergraduate career, Hawking was persistently reading and learning from the works of Albert Einstein. In fact, many of Hawking’s ground breaking discoveries were based on theories created by Einstein, Newton and other scientists before him. Additionally, in his book “Does God Play Dice” Hawking states that “ Without transmission of thought throughout generations, physics would have never reached the epitome it is currently at”.

The only context in which the statement fails to be accurate is when a new field is being completely created. We have all been the taught the tale of the apple falling on Newton’s head and how it lead him to establish the law of gravity. When he established that law, Newton created another field completely, namely gravitational physics. So, Newton created this field without being influenced by past achievements, simply because they did not exist. On the other hand, Newton used previously proven mathematical theorems and models in his development of the law of gravity which limits the degree of his originality.

As shown from the examples mentioned above, past experiences are critical for any further achievements in the field. Without learning what was done before in a field, one can never improve that field”.