In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Throughout the history, there have been extraordinary prodigies such as Isaac Newton and John Sebastian Bach. Since the ingenuity underlying their works is seemingly unprecedented, some people might argue that great works can be made without the influence of past works. On the contrary to this argument, however, I adamantly believe that substantial achievements can be engendered only though past achievements in most cases.

Granted, the very first academic achievements are constructed out of nowhere. For example, the concept of Idea by Plato was reified without being influenced by past academic works, and many other notable original philosophical works were also invented without relying on the previous concepts. Similarly, other very first notions that constitute the axiom of their fields are in general not affected by previous works. Obvious as it may sound, this is simply because the first generation of academic giants had nothing to refer to.

However, most significant concepts except for the above-mentioned marginal axiomatic concepts rely on the previous works. Take Newton, the aforementioned prominent figure, as an example. One of the greatest achievements of him should be the formulation of the canonical equation of motions in classical physics, and some memoirs of him depict that most of his scientific achievements are formulated without relying on the previous theories. However, it should be noted that most of his significant scientific achievements could not have been possible were it not for the concept of inertia that was postulated by Galileo Galilei, who has passed away right before Newton was born. For example, Principia, the book that summarizes the crux of Newton’s achievements, relies heavily on the concept of Galilei’s inertial motion. As this compelling example shows, even Newton’s works are realized by past achievements.

Moreover, considering the process of the vicissitude of academic paradigm, the logic should be extended to other academic fields as well. This is because the change of a paradigm is made possible only by comparing the previous paradigm with the challenging paradigm. To elaborate, in every academic field, a new theory gains its significance by encompassing the scope of explanation of previous theories and by explaining the phenomena that could not be explained by previous theories. In other words, the previous achievements work sort of as a gauge that measures the significance of previous works.

In brief, although some early works are indeed realized without relying on past achievements, in most cases, especially in most of modern academic fields, it is in general impossible to engender significant achievements without relying on previous works. Therefore, rather than blindly seeking for the novelty, students should first thoroughly learn the past achievements to make a significant contribution to their fields.