In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

n a quickly changing and complex society, research is a crucial factor that has great influence to a nation’s prosperity. Thus, dealing with an argument whether caring about past achievements in order to make a significant contribution in a certain field is debatable. I disagree with the statement that it is impossible for a person to make a significant contribution without informations of past achievements in that field.

Admittedly, there are a few cases that past achievements matter to keep up with the current projects. For instance, in developing COVID-19 vaccines, researchers had to use the records of past vaccine developments to develop a new vaccines promptly. If there were not any of information about the past successful vaccine development records, it would have taken a lot more time to develop an effective vaccine. Thus, by utilizing necessary past achievements, contemporary researchers were able to contribute in the crisis of pandemic.

Although some cases have benefits by applying information achieved in the past, there are many more cases that are unnecessary of informations from the past. Take Facebook, for example. Facebook is a social networking service that had a revolutionary influence on current society. Advent of facebook led many changes in the fields of business, technology, and science. Such an invention was did not need any informations about past success, since it was the first trial in applying of the social network. SNS made a great contribution in the change of society in forming a healthy lifestyle, meaningful connectivity which leads to a betterment of overall social health.

In summary, although there are a few advantages in utilizing past achievements, not all fields are necessary of impact provided by past success since revolution can made solely by novelty. Focus should be on the benefits of overall society due to taking an unpredecented new technology into life.