In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is not uncommon for someone to argue that people can't reach a high achievement if they don't stand on the shoulders of ancestors in the field. The statement makes sense, as it takes the past achievements into account which can bring experience to the new research. However, it is not always sensible under some circumstance. For the most cleverest people, they may come up with original ideal. In fact, I disagree with the argument.

Although, for most of the researchers, it is of great significance to learn from the past paper in order to cover the blank place within the field. If they are not supposed to look up in the previous experiment, they would do repetitive job in vain. Another reason for firstly studying the past achievements is that they would provide rich resource and experience so that can improve the efficiency when conducting new research.

However, learning from the past achievements may lead to some problems. For example, one would copy what other people have already done, and explains that the product is innovative. In addition, if more and more people choose to mimic other's work, there won't be any development among the field where people study. In that case, there will be no achievement anymore.

Moreover, think about a question, through human's history, who would become the first one to create a new field for more scholars to study? When Confucius created the Confucianism, which is a significant contribution to the world, no past achievement he could refer. In order world, for someone especially who is remarkably excellent, he or she may not need to learn from the past experience.

In conclusion, I suppose that for most of the people, they have to learn from the past achievement for the resources and experience, but there still exist some genius examples. So I disagree with the statement that it is impossible to achieve remarkable goal without the ancestors help.