In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Sachin Tendulkar, Mahatma Gandhi, Aryabhatt, these are the name of some highly successful people who made a significant contribution in their fields and were the first ones to achieve a prominent position for their work. As history claims, as no one achieved such a position prior them in their respective fields, they had no one to look up to who achieved success in their field. They might have had some role models but certainly not from the same field then too their contribution is impeccable.

Mahatma Gandhi, Father of India, has faced the situations that were horrifying still he dealt with every problem, kept India unite, nobody had done something like that before. His contribution in making India a free country is beyond words. He had on one to follow, no one to get influenced by as there was no one who had such sort of achievement still he managed to do it because he was focused, he knew what he wanted and he kept on moving in that direction.

It is good to have somebody who has already done well in the field of your interest but it is not mandatory. Having known somebody would definitely increase boast your moral but without it also you can achieve whatever you want to achieve in life.

History is full of such examples. I think you can do anything that you set your mind to.

The right approach, concentration and hard work are the important and mandatory requirements to contribute in the field of your interest. I think the argument undermines the importance of all the otehr factors responsible for success. I strongly disagree and would assert that it is always a first time for somebody somewhere and history is created by those who do somthing for the first time.