In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When researching and looking at making a breakthrough in a subject, work will ALMOST always be influenced by past achievements. This is almost impossible to avoid in most settings. In technology newer technologies base them selfs on prexisting Ideas or products. But in the search of a breakthrough, it is possible to create a new product or idea.

When technologies get more advanced this is usually because more is known about it then when is was first created. Wifi, for example, is centuries old but recently has expanded to include more bandwidth and speed. This was possible because more research was conducted on the existing hardware to find ways to improve it and create a better user experience. One example of this is the ac standard for wifi that is the current generation for wifi. This came about because the use of a new bandwidth was research to expand on what was created at the turn of the century which was built on research done from the early days of the internet to allow for a wireless experience.

On the other hand all of the existing technologies had to be created at some point to be built upon. A good example of this is antibiotics. The first antibiotic was created by accident from moldy bread. This invention is one of the main holdings of modern medicine and is the reason for millions of lives saved. But now most new antibiotics will be based on research on how they work and how they affect the body. While their will still be many breakthroughs in creating new ones some of the research will still be based on the original concept.

When looking at how past achievements influence contributions today, it is still possible to have major contributions to new items without research but building on one will have a contribution. Technology is a prime example of building upon research and still having major contributions to it. But creating new items is still possible without existing research because the topic may not be researched or is a new idea in the field.