In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

An individual tends to seek inspiration for most aspects of life be it something complex like an invention or art or even raising a child or something as trivial as dressing up for a occassion. without any inspiration it is as if there is no template to follow, no benchmark to overcome. To ace a trend and bring about something of significance in a field of endeavour one must not only value its historical accolades but also gain insight from it.

To be inspired is to be motivated it gives birth to an unprecedented will to thrive, to improve. In order to develop a sense of such dedication, it is imperative that one appreciates the past efforts made by others in the field but also learn from them. Putting forth an attempt without any inspiration is like an artist diving into work without a mood board, like going in point-blank.

Critics may associate this sort of influence with dearth of imagination or creativity, but the point here is totally different. A proponent of a field of work -art, sports, politics, science-must treat any of his seniors and their contributions as a foundation for his own. he should follow their footsteps, learn from their mistakes but at the same bring something of original and worthy to the table. A junior cricketer keenly observes his seniors play on the field and strives to imbibe their skills, so that later when he steps into their shoes, he does not stumble upon the same obstacles.

Today a Virat Kohli is only touted to be a legend comparable to Sachin Tendulkar because he was able to applaud and gain inspiration from his legendary predecessors in the cricket world. A successful civilization is built only when the present learns from the past, the current generation value the contributions of their ancestors. like they say, whatever you do in life,stay inspired.