In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

The world is filled with interesting people, and regardless of what age they are and their job position, people can contribute in any possible way. In certain fields, a beginner has opportunities to make contributions to their field, where youth and a sense and naivety is valued. Whenever I think of a beginner in a field, I think of someone that is filled with curiosity and wonder. They are eager to learn and improve in the field that they are in. However, I would change the wording of the author's statement and say that "in some fields, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions". Certain fields require a beginner to show restraint and observe the masters at work.

Whenever a beginner first appears in their field, they have a fresh set of eyes. They have yet to see certain things and experienced certain events. In a field like surgery, these set of eyes must observe with precision and scrutiny. Imagine if a beginner's first assignment was to operate on someone that had heart problems. The lack of experience from a beginner would likely result in drastic and undesired things in the operating room. A beginner would clearly be more useful if one observed someone that was much more experienced and understood every detail and situation. Under the guidance of the head surgeon could a beginner be able to learn how to operate in a multitude of situations. The practice is paramount for a beginner to succeed. As time goes on, the contribution of a beginner can accumulate over time. A pupil can take initiatives on procedures and even point out things that the head surgeon did not notice before. Thus, in this type of situation, a beginner would need to show some restraint, and observe the masters so that the pupil may one day contribute.

In certain fields, however, this burgeoning curiosity of a beginner is highly valued and can be actually result in contribution that is more than the experts themselves! The first person that comes to mind is Joey Alexander, a young prodigious jazz pianist. He began showing talent at a very young age, and attracted the attention of many jazz musicians throughout the world. He is a beginner in the sense that he has had not much time playing with other jazz musicians, and that he may lack the understanding of certain queues and the normative behavior that the average jazz musician would understand. However, his incredible technical skill and creative mind ascends the established normative behavior that an average jazz musician may conform to, which may circumscribe creative expression. It is because of his youth and naivety that he can express his creative spirit freely and even play alongside great jazz musicians. Even though Alexander is a beginner (a very young beginner to say the least), the ability to express oneself freely, especially in a field like music, allow a person to experiment and explore, which is highly valued in the creative arts, and if experts notice, then the talent can be nurtured, resulting in contribution that is more than the old masters.

Every beginner has a set of fresh eyes, but the contribution that one makes make depend on the field that they are in. Some need to observe the experts in the field, and some can nurtured, contributing more than the experts themselves.