In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Many scientists and researchers dedicate their entire life to research. The prompt suggests that the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions. In my opinion, the experts are more likely to make an important contribution than a beginner for three reasons.

A beginner in any field is mostly a recent graduate, who has limited knowledge of that particular domain. With the superficial knowledge, they would take time to choose a particular topic in the field and actually make a breakthrough contribution to it. For example, a Ph.D. student at any university requires to complete at least 2-3 years of research to finally publish their thesis or research paper. The time limit decided by universities tells us that any individual requires months if not years of dedicated research to come to a fruitful conclusion. we can only imagine how much time and effort must be needed to come up with a pioneering contribution. Thus, given the time accepted standards for any research, I believe that a novice member of any domain would be less likely than an expert to make an important contribution.

Almost all of the Nobel price or the Turing price winners are experienced people. they work hard for decades, failing multiple times. we say that failure is a step towards success. It's truly applicable here. For example Aho and Ullman, notable computer scientists were awarded Turing award in the year 2020. but their contributions to computer science field dates back to 1990s. only after spending years in this field they were able to make a contribution that was worth a Turing award . With so many insights they get after working on a particular topic for years, they are more equipped to make an important contribution.

Although, there might be cases where a precoucious beginner might contribute more to the field than any expert. but history tells us that these are few exeptions. To conclude, given the years of experience and dedication, experts are more likely to make a important contribution than a beginner.