In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Expert in a field is someone who has complete knowledge and has a perception of what is going on while doing something new. On the other hand beginner is someone who is limited in overall knowledge and just know rudimentory stuff. The prompt recommends that beginner is more liable to contribute in a field than the expert one. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the prompt's statement for two reasons.

In real world nothing is like chance or hit and trial, there is some underlying background which give rise to some phenomena and it is concrete not like some fables. For instance, Newton developed whole calculus and he was an expert. He has immense contribution in the field of physics, mathematics and thermodynamics, etc. It is true that the apple hit his head by chance but by no means he was beginner. Another thing with beginner is that they are more likely to cause blunder. For instance, if beginner was doing research with the radioactive material he/she can cause widespread tumult by promoting radioactive material as a decorative item. This has happen in England few centuries ago when women do make up with substance that causes cancer but was promoted as a cosmetic product.

I know there are some people who argue that neutrons was discovered by beginner. However, people can do discoveries by chance but that does not mean they are beginners. They are experts in their field that just don't have knowledge of what they are going to discover. Even Rutherford's plum pudding model of atom was work of a scientist himself who is not by any metric beginner.