In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We live in an ever-changing time, where progress is characterized by those who take action towards an issue to lessen the discrimination of a given community. Movements such as the Feminist or Women’s movement of the 1960s and ’70s has inspired the discussion of social issues women have faced and continue to face to this day, sparking following movements such as the Me Too movement. These discussions have allowed progress to be made in a male-dominating society that is opposing our views. It is recommended by the prompt, that in order for progress to occur in given situations, conversation amongst people with opposing views should be required. In my opinion, I strongly agree that progress requires discussion among people with contrasting views in order to understand why these individuals have the mindsets that they do and I list two reasons as to how assists in doing so.

To begin, we live in a time of fear due to the global pandemic we are facing of the Coronavirus or COVID-19. Many people have lost their businesses, are unemployed, and have had family members fall ill and die all in relation to this virus. The decisions made for the future and safety of this nation are in the hands of the two political parties, the Republican and Democratic parties. Many Republicans believe that states should reopen their businesses as people are losing the money with each passing day that is needed to provide for their families. On the other hand, many Democrats wish to extend the Stay-At-Home orders in place as the virus is still a present threat that is killing millions of Americans. It’s imperative that these two parties should discuss amongst each other why they stand with their opinion, in order to make progress in assisting the American people during the worst financial crisis since the Great Depression of 1928 as well as the safety of our nation, as there are consequences we will face until a vaccine is created.

Furthermore, our nation is belittling the efforts of frontline healthcare workers, and blaming them for the rapid spread of infection of this virus. In Russia, two healthcare workers fell out of buildings and were suspiciously assumed to commit suicide due to the deaths and terrors this virus has presented. Across the globe, doctors, nurses, and so forth have been brutally attacked for doing their jobs. Many are frustrated with how the virus is being handled across regions, and are taking out their frustrations on anyone they can put the blame on. This example demonstrates the importance of hashing out opposing opinions to hopefully allow people to understand each other's frustrations and to progress our given situation.

Some may argue that discussing opposing views will not enhance progress as individuals can be rigid in their stances, but I believe that this doesn’t withstand. Hearing other’s opinions is vital in understanding where they are coming from. If change is to occur in any situation, we need conversations from opposing views to occur, so that disagreements can be approached in a neutral way for progress to be made and not to be stuck in limbo.