The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

It is one of the most discussed topic, what makes the head of a group a "leader" versus a "boss". After all, the term "leader" bares more auspicious qualities over "boss" for the leader refers to someone who coalesce the group's best interest and is open to voices from her group, while the boss refers to someone who dictates and make decisions solely upon her own discretion. It is irrefutable that the best leaders are the ones who actively encourages feedback from the people they lead and are open to such feedback.

The leader is an individual who takes the responsibility in executing critical decisions to promote the group's best interest. That being said, the only way for the leader to acknowledge and act upon the group's best interest is to hear the voices from within. For example, the empirical analyses on how and why the most successful companies are where they are today, heavily relies on their staff satisfaction and work environment. These companies maintain transcendent level of receiving feedback from their staffs and adjusting the needs. To be more detailed, compared to less notable companies with low staff satisfaction, these successful organizations offer better staff benefits (e.g., greater health insurance coverage) and flexible work environment to promote staff's best work efficiency (e.g., various types of workspaces to accommodate different types of working styles). The leaders (headquarters) of these companies accomplished more by actively receiving the staff feedback.

Furthermore, it is a fundamental process to thoroughly collect all the available data before any analysis or decision-making. The same logic applies to leading a group. As a leader, one must coalesce various and numerous feedback and comments from the group she is leading, in order to assess an on-going issues and to ultimately make an executive decision.

However, it is also true that the leader should have own discretion that will not fluctuate to merely please others. Regardless of the size and characteristics of a group, every individual carries different perspectives, different preferences, and different goals. When leading a group of individuals, it is simply impossible to make a decision that will please every single member of the group. Google, for example, despite being the most successful and most admired organization by both consumers and employees, is well-known for having a compact core "brain" consists of small number of people who make all the executive decisions for the company. Instead of hearing millions of different ideas and suggestions from every branch and team in the company, the several brains in the headquarter literally functions as the brain and command all the rest of Google members to just follow along. This case appropriately illustrates how on some regards, the best leader are those who are capable of having own discretion, instead of those who base off of group member's feedback.