Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

It is truly difficult to maintain a healthy balance between self-confidence and accepting criticisms. In fact, people continuously argue whether one should weight more on listening to and accommodating upon criticism and feedback – no matter how harsh and bitter – or vice versa. Despite the vehement outcry supporting that one should trust self more than anyone else, it is irrefutable that being more open-minded and attentive to other’s feedback and criticism significantly improves one’s work to become not only more objective and impartial, but also prepare one for all possible objections moving forward.

It is not entirely wrong to be tenacious and self-supportive with our own ideas and opinions. The more human civilization develop, the greater emphasis has been put on self-acknowledgement as well as self-promoted well-being. In this overflowing pot of diverse and immense voices today, it is a powerful strength to be able to stick up for own, regardless of what others say and do. Such stubborn attitude is how Amazon accomplished its current eminence; the founder tenaciously launched his start up of “buy and deliver groceries for other people and get commission from it”, which many people around him at the time considered to be completely pointless and questionable.

All human ideas and opinions are subjected to more than one side of perspective and so are subjected to criticism and questions. One should realize the fact that not all criticism and questions are negative and admonishing. Listening to criticism and accommodating the weaknesses upon raised questions refines the product to be more objective in multiple aspects and bulletproof to common doubts. The power of criticism and endless questioning is already entrenched in the work system of the top ranked companies. Google, one of the most successful and progressive company today, even have a sector specialized in only raising questions, objections, and criticism to any reviewed projects. The team effectively points out the project’s flaws and weaknesses in various cultural, analytical, and ethical aspect, eventually resulting in the evaluated project to become as flawless as it can be.

Furthermore, no matter how innovative the idea is, the work must present comprehensive social and ethical validity in order to achieve its lasting legacy. However, there is a limit to how successfully an individual can acquire the very objective stance in complex social and ethical standards. Therefore, an individual must communicate with others on social and ethical questions and criticism toward her work in order to align with prevailing values. Regardless of how much humans can learn from and how groundbreaking the inhumane era of Nazis is in the entire human history, no one considers Adolf Hitler as the successful and tenacious individual who left the lasting “legacy”.

Hence, although sticking to own may pay off in some cases, one can definitely benefit from receiving and reacting to other opinions and questions in order to refine itself to dismiss common doubts and acquire social and ethical objectivity; the key features of lasting legacy.